Panola College Hall of Fame Class of 2014

Saturday, February 8, 2014, Panola College held the 2014 Athletic Hall of Fame Induction Banquet with over 75 in attendance, including family members, alumni, and several retired coaches and teachers.  This year's inductees included:  James "Jim" Gray - 1948-1950 Football/Basketball/Baseball; Don W. Bounds - 1960-1961 Baseball; Mildred Hodge Griffith - 1976-1977 Women's Basketball; Steve Winfield - 1976-1977 Baseball; and Todd Haney - 1984-1985 Baseball.  Bill O'Neal, State Historian of Texas and Retired Panola College History Instructor, was the Master of Ceremonies introducing each inductee as well as telling some interesting facts and stories about each.  Athletic Director, Don Clinton, presented a plaque to each inductee commemorating their time at Panola College and their sports excellence.  Each one spoke briefly about their Panola days and what Panola College has meant to them.  A dinner was served while a slide show of the inductees played.  Several past Hall of Fame Inductees were present, including Elvin "Buddy" Lowery, Coach Jacke Davis, Glyn Johnston and Carson Joines. 
2014 Hall of Fame Class
L to R: Elvin "Buddy" Lowery (2010), Coach Jacke S. Davis (2008), Steve Winfield (2014), Todd Haney (2014), James "Jim" Gray (2014), Mildred Hodge Griffith (2014), Don W. Bounds (2014), Glyn Johnston (2010), Carson Joines (2010)

The Panola College Athletic Hall of Fame was founded in 2002 to honor persons who have made outstanding contributions to the individual sports and/or to Panola College Athletics.  This recognition perpetuates the memory of those former athletes and coaches who have brought distinction, honor, and excellence to the College. 

Hall of Fame Inductees

Football                                        Basketball
Wendell Swan                               Mary Ann Ottwell
William J. "Bill" Defee                    Rosie Walker Kellum
1949 and 1950 Football Teams     Gregory Procell
James "Jim" Gray                          Peggy Pope Stapleton
                                                       Aroid Neal
Baseball                                      Deborah Kay Thomas
Bill Griffin                                        Elvin "Buddy" Lowery
Doug Ault                                        Mildred Hodge Griffith
Jacke S. Davis
Rudy Jaramillo
Ronnie Dwayne Gideon
Bill Duckworth
Don Bounds
Steve Winfield
Todd Haney